"Sustainable Alpha Fund" – a vision becomes reality

The Sustainable Alpha Fund is a multi-asset product managed using strict exclusion criteria and a comprehensive ESG (Environmental, Social, Governance) sustainability model to support a climate-friendly and sustainable future. The sustainability criteria are set and ongoing monitored by an independent advisory council.

SustA -

Past performance is not a guide to future performance, nor a reliable indicator of future results or performance.
Source: Internal Advisory Invest GmbH data base.
Test-Portfolio (Simulation) to the 16th of October 2017: To prove performance stability the portfolio has been tested over the course of more than three years taking into account all exclusion criteria.

Exclusion criteria

The exclusion criteria refers to sectors (e.g. oil and gas), products (e.g. weapons) or themes (e.g. animal testing). Among others, these include

  • Coal, Oil & Gas
  • Aviation
  • Conventional automobile manufacturers
  • Green gene technology
  • Agrochemistry
  • Nuclear energy
  • Animal testing
  • Child and forced labour
  • Gambling
  • Pornography
  • Armament industry
  • Tobacco

An investment decision is based on companies (equity or bond) achieving exceptional sustainability results (ESG Plus model). Furthermore the portfolio is constantly screened on fundamental data and „carbon footprint analysis” to complete the Sustainable Alpha approach. We define it as our clear target to stay well below market peers related to carbon exposure as well as investing into the fundamentally strongest businesses. Our strategy attracts retail as well as institutional investors and offer them a sustainable and climate friendly alternative.

All ESG analysis is supplied by our external and independent partner ESG Plus.

Details to the “Sustainable Alpha Fund” based on the current investments.

Sustainable News

Ethical-ecological investing under strict rules

Are sustainable investment strategies gaining importance?

One would think so. But numbers prove different.

Taking Germany as an example within the EU, the overall share of sustainable investment products counted for just 2.8 % at the end of 2016. FNG (“Forum nachhaltiger Geldanlagen”) reported this number at 5.8 billion Euros for Austria in 2015, 3.5 % of all assets under management.

Does the majority of sustainable products on the market stand up to strict environmental and sustainable criteria?

Probably not. Looking closely, a good number of products on offer are more a cheat package than a real sustainable alternative. A study recently published by a research group and supported by the Austrian ministry for agriculture, forestry, environment and water management shows that 3.14 billion Euros of money invested in sustainable branded funds include 150 million (4.8 %) directly invested into the fossil fuel industry (study carbon bubble – german).

What distinguishes the "Sustainable Alpha Fund" from other sustainable products?

A lot. The “Sustainable Alpha” criteria catalogue was drafted and designed in cooperation with leading environmental organisations, and is fully transparent. We only invest in liquid, global stocks and bonds monitored under this strict set of rules.

Is it possible to achieve sustainable and durable return while investing under these strict set of rules?

Definitely yes. The concept for the “Sustainable Alpha Fund” successfully passed a three year test phase and achieved a better performance than global stock indices like the Global Stock World Index, the S&P 500 or the Euro Stoxx50 – all this with a comparable low portfolio volatility (graph portfolio-test).

The climate treaty signed in Paris aims to keep global warming below 2.0 degree. The “Sustainable Alpha” clearly focuses on a 1.5 degree future, according to leading scientists even 2.0 degree would be too much to cope with. The fund is a flagship product for investment funds, how strategies can and should implement new rules, not in the future but now.  The exceptional performance during the portfolio test proved that strict and sustainable investing attracts all investors, not only the ethical driven one. The UCITS-Fund will attract retail as well as institutional money. The fund is aligned to a well diversified absolute-return-approach and invests globally in listed stocks, bonds and money market instruments. The “Sustainable Alpha” is not an environmental theme fund or a private-equity-fund – and offers a great alternative to conventional as well as sustainable products. After the signing of the Paris climate treaty by 194 countries in 2015 there is clear need for policy makers and regulators action. Action is still missing by today.  The financial market as well as the private sector must contribute to achieve this goal rather sooner than later.

Today financial markets are far from climate-fit. “Sustainable Alpha” is one of the first steps in the right direction.

How to invest in the "Sustainable Alpha Fund"?

The fund started trading on 16th of October 2017. You can buy shares at your principal banker or online using the ISIN which is indicated in the fund documentation. For any further questions please do not hesitate to contact the fund management company Advisory Invest (support@sustainablealpha.eu).

Fund Documentation:

VKP_Sustainable-Alpha-Fund

KID_Sustainable-Alpha-Fund_Retail

KID_Sustainable-Alpha-Fund_Instiutional

Sustainable-Alpha-Folder

Management:

The Advisory Invest GmbH is an investment firm pursuant to paragraph 3 in the Austrian Securities Supervision Act 2007 (WAG 2007).

For the Sustainable Alpha Fund, Wolfgang Rattay is advising the Advisory Fund-Management team.

Wolfgang started working in the financial industry in 1987. In the 90’s he was responsible for the foreign exchange derivative business for the former GiroCredit (today’s Erste Group). From 1994-2000 he lead a team at Nomura International in London dealing with warrants and derivatives.
Later he was a part of a global strategy investment team at Deutsche Bank in Frankfurt, dealing in all asset classes and managing director at Bank Austria and UniCredit London responsible for the emerging markets business. Since 2015 he fully focuses on sustainable investing in times of climate change. (Article)

Wolfgang Rattay

Risk-Warning

This marketing material solely serves as non-binding information. It is not a prospectus according to the Austrian InvFG (Investment Fund Law) or KMG (Capital Market Law) and does not represent a detailed description for a market, an economic sector, a fund or a financial instrument. The related information does not represent an offer or a recommendation to purchase or sell any financial instrument.

This marketing material does not replace professional consulting and in particular does not serve as a substitute for a comprehensive risk assessment.
The actual prospectus including all fund terms as well as the client information document (both in German language) are available at no cost from Liechtensteinische Landesbank (Österreich) AG, Hessgasse 1, 1010 Vienna or from Advisory Invest GmbH, Gottfried-Keller-Gasse 2/3, 1030 Vienna (or online at www.advisoryinvest.at or http://www.llb.at).
Datasource: Internal database from Advisory Invest GmbH and the database from Liechtensteinische Landesbank (Österreich) AG.
This marketing material dos not represent an offer, nor an invitation to purchase or sell a financial instrument. Potential investors should be clearly aware of the risks incurred by an investment and not make any investment decisions before having received comprehensive investment advise from an authorised professional investment advisor.

"Sustainable Alpha Fonds" – eine Vision wird Realität

Der Sustainable Alpha Fonds ist ein Mischfonds, der unter Berücksichtigung strengster Ausschlusskriterien und mit Hilfe eines umfassenden Nachhaltigkeitsmodells nach ESG-Kriterien (Environmental, Social, Governance) gemanagt wird, um den Zielen einer klimaschonenden und nachhaltigen Entwicklung zu entsprechen. Die Nachhaltigkeitskriterien des Fonds werden unter Berücksichtigung der Anforderungen eines unabhängigen Beirats laufend überprüft.

SustA -

Hinweis: Performance-Ergebnisse der Vergangenheit lassen keine verlässlichen Rückschlüsse auf die zukünftige Entwicklung eines Investmentfonds zu.
Quelle: Bloomberg und interne Datenbank der Advisory Invest GmbH.
Test-Portfolio (Simulation): Um die Stabilität und Zuverlässigkeit zu belegen, wurde das Portfolio unter Berücksichtigung aller Kriterien über einen mehr als dreijährigen Zeitraum intensiv getestet.

Ausschlusskriterien

Die Ausschlusskriterien können sich auf Sektoren (z.B. Öl & Gas), Produkte (z.B. Waffen) oder Themen (z.B. Tierversuche) beziehen. Dazu gehören unter anderem

  • Kohleabbau, Öl & Gas
  • Luftfahrt
  • konventionelle Autohersteller
  • grüne Gentechnologie
  • Agrochemie
  • Nuklearenergie
  • Tierversuche
  • Kinder- und Zwangsarbeit
  • Glücksspiel
  • Pornografie
  • Waffen
  • Tabak

Bei der Auswahl der Investitionen werden darüber hinaus Wertpapiere/Unternehmen mit überdurchschnittlichen Nachhhaltigkeits-Ergebnissen (gemäß ESG-Modell) berücksichtigt. Eine fortlaufende Analyse fundamentaler Daten, sowie ein laufend ermittelter „Carbon Footprint“ ergänzen das Nachhaltigkeits-Konzept. Erklärtes Ziel ist, in die fundamental stärksten Titel zu investieren. Im Vergleich zu anderen konventionellen und nachhaltigen Fonds soll der CO2-Fußabdruck des Portfolios konstant niedrig sein, um institutionellen und privaten Investoren eine nachhaltigere und klimaschonendere Alternative zu bieten.

Die ESG-Bewertungen stammen von unserem Datenpartner ESG Plus.

Prognostizierte Aufteilung zum Start des „Sustainable Alpha Fonds“ basierend auf dem Portfolio Test.

Ethisch-ökologisches Investieren nach strengsten Kriterien

Gewinnen nachhaltige Investments an Bedeutung?

Gefühlt ja. Doch die nackten Zahlen sprechen leider eine andere Sprache. In Deutschland beispielsweise beläuft sich der Anteil am Gesamtmarkt auf lediglich 2,8 Prozent (Stand: Ende 2016). In Österreich lag der Anteil nachhaltiger Geldanlagen 2015 bei 5,8 Milliarden oder ca. 3,5 % (FNG: Forum nachhaltige Geldanlagen).

Hält der Großteil der am Markt befindlichen Produkte wirklich strengen Nachhaltigkeits- und Umweltkriterien stand?

Eher nein. Bei näherer Betrachtung entpuppen sich viele Produkte eher als Mogelpackung. Eine vom österreichischen Bundesministerium für Land- und Forstwirtschaft, Umwelt und Wasserwirtschaft unterstützte Studie hat jüngst ergeben, dass von 3,14 Milliarden Euro nachhaltig veranlagtem Kapital in Österreich rund 150 Millionen Euro (4,8 %) im Fossilbereich investiert sind (Studie Carbon Bubble Mai 2017).

Was unterscheidet nun den "Sustainable Alpha Fonds" von anderen nachhaltigen Investmentfonds?

Sehr viel. Der Kriterienkatalog des „Sustainable Alpha“ wurde gemeinsam mit Umweltschutzorganisationen entworfen, ist absolut transparent und investiert in globale, liquide, aber nach strengsten Kriterien bewertete Aktien und Anleihen.

Kann man mit einem so streng nachhaltigen Investmentprodukt auf Dauer eine herzeigbare Rendite erwirtschaften?

Eindeutig ja. Das Management Konzept des  „Sustainable Alpha Fonds“ durchlief eine dreijährige Testphase und erzielte dabei eine bessere Performance als globale Indizes wie der Welt-Aktien-Index, der S&P 500 oder der Euro Stoxx50 – und das bei geringerer Portfolio-Volatilität (Grafik Test-Portfolio).
Der Pariser Weltklimavertrag gibt das Ziel vor, die durch Treibhausgase verursachte Erderwärmung auf deutlich unter 2,0 Grad zu begrenzen. Der „Sustainable Alpha“ investiert mit Fokus auf eine 1,5-Grad-Zukunft – 2,0 Grad sind laut führenden Wissenschaftlern bereits zu viel. Der Fonds ist ein Vorzeigeprodukt, wie Investmentprodukte nicht in Zukunft, sondern bereits heute aussehen können und müssen. Die außerordentliche Performance im Rahmen unserer dreijährigen Testphase hat zudem bewiesen, dass eine strenge, nachhaltige Investitionspolitik nicht nur für ethisch-orientierte Investoren von Interesse ist. Der UCITS-Fonds ist sowohl für den Retail- als auch den institutionellen Investor interessant. Der Fonds orientiert sich an dem Absolute-Return Gedanken und investiert breit gestreut und diversifiziert in gelistete Aktien, Anleihen und Geldmarktinstrumenten. Der „Sustainable Alpha“ ist kein Umweltthemen- und auch kein Private-Equity-Fonds – und daher eine hervorragende Alternative zu konventionellen und auch nachhaltigen Produkten.
Im Jahr 2015 unterzeichneten 194 Staaten den Pariser Klima-Vertrag. Die Politik und Regulatoren haben noch nicht entsprechend reagiert. Der Finanz- und Wirtschaftssektor kann und muss dazu beitragen, die vereinbarten Ziele umzusetzen. Der Finanzmarkt ist heute bei weitem noch nicht klimafit – der „Sustainable Alpha“ ist einer der ersten Schritte auf dem Weg dahin.

Wie kann man in den "Sustainable Alpha Fonds" investieren?

Die Zeichnung der Anteile startet mit dem 16. August 2017, Fondsstart ist der
16. Oktober 2017. Die Zeichnung zum Ausgabepreis ist mittels Angabe der Wertpapierkennnummer (ISIN), welcher in der Dokumentation zum Fonds zu finden ist, bei Ihrer Hausbank oder auch über Online Banking möglich. Für Fragen zur Zeichnung steht das Team der Advisory Invest GmbH, die den Fonds verwaltet, gerne jederzeit zur Verfügung (wrattay@greenalpha.eu).

Fonds-Dokumente:

VKP_Sustainable-Alpha-Fund

KID_Sustainable-Alpha-Fund_Retail

KID_Sustainable-Alpha-Fund_Instiutional

 

Management:

Die Advisory Invest GmbH ist eine Wertpapierfirma gemäß § 3 Wertpapier-
aufsichtsgesetz 2007 (WAG 2007).

Für den Sustainable Alpha Fonds ist Wolfgang Rattay im Fondsmanagement der Advisory Invest tätig.

Wolfgang Rattay ist seit 1987 im Finanzmarkt beschäftigt. In den 90er Jahren war er verantwortlich für das Devisen-Derivate-Geschäft bei der damaligen GiroCredit (heute Erste Group). 1994 – 2000 leitete er den globalen Handel mit Währungsoptionsscheinen und Devisen Derivaten bei Nomura International in London.
In weiterer Folge war er Teil eines globalen, strategischen Investmentteams (alle Asset Klassen) bei der Deutschen Bank in Frankfurt und Managing Director in der Bank Austria und der UniCredit London verantwortlich für den Emerging Market Bereich. Seit 2015 beschäftigt er sich intensiv mit dem Thema nachhaltiges Investieren in Zeiten des Klimawandels.

(Artikel im Nachrichtenmagazin Profil)

Wolfgang Rattay

Risiko-Hinweis

Die vorliegende Marketingmitteilung dient ausschließlich der unverbindlichen Information. Sie stellt keinen Prospekt im Sinne des österreichischen InvFG oder KMG und keine vollständige Darstellung eines bestimmten Marktes, eines Wirtschaftszweiges, eines Fonds oder eines Finanzinstruments dar. Bei den darin enthaltenen Informationen handelt es sich nicht um eine Empfehlung für den An- oder verkauf von Finanzinstrumenten.
Diese Marketingmitteilung ersetzt nicht die fachgerechte Beratung für die darin beschriebenen Finanzinstrumente und dient insbesondere nicht als Ersatz für eine umfassende Risikoaufklärung.
Der aktuelle Prospekt einschließlich der Fondsbestimmungen und das Kundeninformationsdokument (beides in deutscher Sprache) sind bei der Semper Constantia Invest GmbH, Hessgasse 1, 1010 Wien und der Depotbank, der Semper Constantia Privatbank AG, Hessgasse 1, 1010 Wien, sowie bei der Advisory Invest GmbH, Gottfried-Keller-Gasse 2/3, 1030 Wien, kostenlos erhältlich und im Internet unter http://www.advisoryinvest.at und www.sc-invest.at abrufbar.
Datenquelle: Bloomberg, interne Datenbank Advisory Invest GmbH und Datenbank der Semper Constantia Privatbank AG.
Diese Marketingmitteilung stellt weder ein Anbot, noch eine Einladung zur Anbotsstellung zum Kauf oder Verkauf von Finanzinstrumenten dar. Vor Treffen einer Anlageentscheidung sollte jedenfalls ein professioneller Finanzdienstleister herangezogen werden.